Sindh University syndicate approves new appointments

Hyderabad:22 July: The 188th meeting of the Syndicate of University of Sindh Jamshoro presided over by the Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Abida Taherani has approved the Budget 2014-15 of the university. According to university spokesman, the meeting also sanctioned the appointments of 12 Professors as Directors/Chairpersons of Centers/ Departments for the next three years and approved the 10 percent rise in admission fee which will be charged from the students of the university and its affiliated campuses in the new academic session. In order to overcome the huge expenses, the Syndicate also approved 10 per cent increase in fee of migration, degree, equivalence and other certificates. The meeting also approved the pre-mature increment for the employees of Grade 1 to Grade 4. The meeting also approved the proposal of extending the duration of foreign scholarship from three years to four years for the faculty members. It also restored the independence status of centre for rural development communication (CRDC). The meeting sanctioned 10 percent Ad-hoc Relief in the salaries of all the employees, pension, conveyance allowance and provision of leave encashment. The Syndicate also approved the appointment of Prof. Dr. Rizwana Chang as Director Institute of Media Studies and Communication, Dr. Lachhman Das as Director Institute of Information and Communication Technology, Dr. Muhammad Khan Sangi as Director of Institute of English Language and Literature, Dr. Akhtar Mughal as Director Institute of Physics, Dr. Muhammad Bux Burdi as Chairman Department of Public Administration, Dr. Saima Shaikh as Chairperson Department of Sociology, Dr. Shamim Akhtar as Chairperson Deparetment of Social Work, Dr. Hafiz Munir Ahmed as Chairman Department of Comparative Religion and Culture, Dr. Yasmeen Iqbal as Director Institute of Physical Education, Dr. Ghulam Asghar Maka as Chairman Department of Microbiology, Dr. Nasreen Memon as Chairperson Department of Zoology and Ghulam Ali Jareko as Director Sustainable Development Study Centre (SDSC).Daily Times.